Youth Leaders Wraps June Session

Each summer, the Winter Park Chamber of Commerce hosts a leadership development program for rising high school sophomores, juniors and seniors called Youth Leaders. There are two week-long sessions, one in June and a second in July. The students spend a week learning about team building, volunteerism, opportunities for leadership within our community and areas of interest (such as local government, media, arts and culture).

On June 20, a group of 23 high school students from nine area public and private schools across Central Florida gathered for the Class XVI June Session. Highlights from the week included a class service project at BASE Camp Children’s Cancer Foundation, ballroom dance lessons, a video resume workshop at Full Sail University, a mock voir dire and trial at the Orange County Courthouse, a career insight panel with local professionals, and more!


Outstanding YL Winners

Outstanding Youth Leaders accepting their awards from Winter Park Chamber of Commerce Vice President Debra Hendrickson and Seacoast Bank Senior VP John Casebier.

At the end of each session, the students select a male and female representative to recognize with the Outstanding Youth Leader award. Our June 2016 winners are:

  • Reagan Spence, Winter Park High School, Junior
  • Robert Van Valkenburgh, Winter Park High School, Senior

Both winners happen to the be children of Leadership Winter Park graduates, Marni Spence, , Class VIII and Mark Van Valkenburgh, Class X. Leaderships seems to run in these families!

A special thank you to our June session sponsors

Citizens Bank of Florida, City of Winter Park Parks & Recreation Dept., Harbor Community Bank, Leading Edge Title, The Sharon Snow Team at RE/MAX 200 Realty, Seacoast Bank, Shari v. N. Hodgson, Inc./Insight Seminars, Trinity Preparatory School, Universal Orlando and Winter Park Chamber of Commerce.

A special thank you to our June facilitators

Melanie Becker, Debbie Komanski,Shari Hodgson, John Casebier, Tom Ott, Phyllis Corkum, Tris Filliez, Sharon Snow, Leslie McClelland, Dotty Green, Camri McCormick, Kimberly Trammell, Debbi Beers, Dr. Ruth Edwards, Fred Jones, Mark Van Valkenburgh, Clay Roesch, Courtney Karem, Amy Gordon and John Strudwick.

Share this PageShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInEmail this to someone